skip tocontent

Our board members are "non-executive" - they have no involvement in individual complaints. Their job as "public interest" directors is to ensure that the ombudsman service is properly resourced and is able to carry out its work effectively and independently.


image: Sir Nicholas Montagu

Sir Nicholas Montagu KCB

  • chairman, Charity Tax Commission, NCVO


  • chairman of Council at Queen Mary, University of London
  • chairman of the board of Inland Revenue
  • a senior civil servant working on issues ranging from pensions to public service reform

other members of the board

image:gerard connell

Gerard Connell

  • chair, Defence Infrastructure Organisation
  • non-executive director, Science & Technology Facilities Council
  • non-executive director, Nuclear Decommissioning Fund Company Ltd


  • senior independent director and chair of audit committee, Pennon Group Plc
  • non-executive director and chair of audit committee, Defence Science & Technology Laboratory
  • non-executive director, Land Registry
  • group finance director & managing director Western Europe, Wincanton Plc
  • regional director, Hill Samuel
  • managing director, Bankers Trust
  • governor of King's College School, Wimbledon

image: Alan Jenkins

Alan Jenkins

  • non-executive director of the Pension Protection Fund
  • non-executive director of Gross Hill Properties Ltd, and Sydney and London Properties Ltd
  • non-executive director of Northcourt Ltd
  • trustee, Kids for Kids


  • a non-executive board member of the Crown Prosecution Service
  • chairman of the board of trustees of Mencap Trust Company Limited
  • vice chairman of the International Institute for Environment & Development
  • partner & chairman of global markets at Eversheds LLP
  • chairman of the board of Eversheds LLP
  • managing partner of Frere Cholmeley Bischoff
  • governor of Bishop Gilpin Primary School

image: Sienne Veit

Sienne Veit

  • director, online product at John Lewis Partnership


  • member, mobile leadership council at Internet Advertising Bureau (IAB) UK
  • head of mobile at Morrisons plc
  • head of mobile, research and development at Marks & Spencer Direct

image: Baroness Warwick

Baroness Diana Warwick

  • a member of the House of Lords
  • chair, National Housing Federation
  • chair, The Property Ombudsman Council
  • non-executive director, Pension Protection Fund
  • member of council, Nottingham Trent University


  • chair, Human Tissue Authority
  • chief executive, Universities UK (UUK)
  • chief executive, Westminster Foundation for Democracy

image: Jenny Watson

Jenny Watson CBE

  • chair of the National Online Self Exclusion Scheme
  • chair, Independent Complaints Panel, Portman Group
  • chair, House of St Barnabas
  • non-executive director, Financial Reporting Council
  • Governor, Mossbourne Parkside Academy


  • chair, Electoral Commission
  • deputy Chair, Money Advice Trust
  • vice Chair, Citizens UK Commission into Islam and participation in public life
  • non-executive director, WRAP
  • chair, Equal Opportunities Commission
  • commissioner, Audit Commission
  • member, Advertising Advisory Committee
  • deputy Chair, Banking Code Standards Board

board sub-committees

The directors also form a number of sub-committees of the full board:

There is more information about the work of these sub-committees in the directors' report and financial statements.

minutes of board meetings

The board of the Financial Ombudsman Service meets formally around seven to eight times a year, to consider a wide range of strategic issues. The minutes of their meetings are available to download in PDF format.

directors' reports

directors' annual reports and accounts are available for each year - as well as our annual reviews that give a yearly overview of our work resolving consumer complaints

Caroline Wayman

need help?

consumer helpline
0800 023 4567

our technical advice desk
(for businesses and consumer advisers)
020 7964 1400

media enquiries
020 7964 1234
07901 118 018 out of hours