skip tocontent

board appointments

18 December 2007

The Financial Ombudsman Service today announces a number of new appointments to its non-executive board of directors.

The board of the Financial Ombudsman Service has strategic responsibility for the running of the ombudsman service - ensuring the organisation is properly resourced and able to carry out its work effectively, impartially and independently.

The newly-appointed non-executive directors are:

Alan Cook CBE

Currently the managing director of Post Office Ltd. From 2002 to 2006 he was the chief executive of National Savings and Investments (NS&I) which signed-up to the Financial Ombudsman Service on a voluntary basis in 2005. Prior to this, he had a long career with the Prudential, culminating in the post of chief operating officer.

Joe Garner

Group general manager of personal finance services at HSBC since 2004. His previous career was largely in marketing, initially with Procter & Gamble in the UK and Eastern Europe, and then with the Dixons Group. More recently he led the implementation of two major initiatives - to counter mobile phone theft, and to recruit special constables from the retail industry under the Shopwatch initiative.

John Howard

Currently the chairman of the Financial Services Consumer Panel but due to stand down from the panel at the end of March. He is a journalist and broadcaster with extensive experience of consumer issues, having been the principal presenter of Radio 4 You and Yours. He was a member of the Mortgage Code Compliance Board from 1997 to 2004 and is currently a council member of Energywatch. He is also a qualified solicitor.

Elaine Kempson CBE

Professor and director of the Personal Finance Research Centre at the University of Bristol - and an acknowledged expert on retail financial services. She has twice been an independent reviewer of the Banking Code and an adviser, or member, of a wide range of bodies covering financial inclusion, over-indebtedness and access to financial services.

Maeve Sherlock OBE

Currently studying for a PhD at Durham University. From 2003 to 2006 she was chief executive of the Refugee Council, and prior to that she was a member of the Council of Economic Advisers in the Treasury. She was also chief executive of the National Council for One Parent Families from 1997 to 2000 and has held a range of non-executive appointments.

Sir Christopher Kelly, chairman of the Financial Ombudsman Service, said:

I am glad that we have been able to make these significant appointments and I am confident that they will bring new strengths to the board. I take this opportunity of warmly thanking Ed Hucks, Roger Jefferies, Caroline Banks, Richard Hampton and David Crowther, whose terms of office will come to an end in February 2008, for their invaluable contributions to the board.

notes for editors

Existing board members - Sir Christopher Kelly KCB (chairman), Kate Lampard, Julian Lee and Roger Sanders OBE - continue as non-executive directors, having been re-appointed for further terms.

The retirements and new appointments will take effect in February 2008.

These appointments have been made by the Financial Services Authority (FSA) under the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000.

media enquiries

  • David Cresswell – phone 020 7964 0134
  • Emma Parker – phone 020 7964 0966
  • out of hours – phone 0771 8658 306

news image

useful links