skip tocontent

board appointments

21 January 2011

The Financial Ombudsman Service today announces three new appointments to its non-executive board of directors - to take effect from 23 February 2011.

These appointments have been made by the Financial Services Authority (FSA) under the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 - and follow a recruitment exercise including advertising in the press.

The board of the Financial Ombudsman Service has strategic responsibility for running the ombudsman service - ensuring the organisation is properly resourced and able to carry out its work effectively, impartially and independently.

The newly appointed non-executive directors are:

Dame Janet Gaymer DBE QC (Hon)

Currently a member of the council of Justice and a governor of the London School of Economics. She also has various other honorary and part-time roles. She recently retired as Commissioner for Public Appointments in England & Wales. An employment law specialist, she spent 35 years with law firm, Simmons & Simmons, the last five years of which she was the senior partner.

Alan Jenkins

Partner and chairman of Global Markets at Eversheds LLP and non-executive board member of UK Trade & Investment (UKTI). He is also chairman of the board of trustees of Mencap Trust Company Limited, vice chairman of the International Institute for Environment & Development and chairman of the board of trustees of Lattitude Global Volunteering. A litigation lawyer, he led the merger in 1998 of Frere Cholmeley Bischoff - where he was managing director - with Eversheds where he was chairman from 2004 to 2010.

Pat Stafford

A marketing specialist by background, and latterly group marketing director for BUPA. Prior to this, she was managing director of corporate positioning services and head of brand management for British Airways. Formerly she was a non-executive director for HMRC, a governor of the University of Bedfordshire and regional board member of the Prince's Trust. Pat is also involved extensively in several charities including New Leaf, Guide Dogs and Young Enterprise.

notes for editors

Existing board members are:

director end of current term
Sir Christopher Kelly KCB (chairman) January 2012
Alan Cook CBE February 2015
Elaine Kempson CBE February 2013
Kate Lampard February 2012
Julian Lee February 2012
Roger Sanders OBE February 2012
Baroness Maeve Sherlock February 2014

media enquiries

  • Phillipa Cook or Martyn James - phone 020 7964 1234
  • out of hours - phone 07718 658306

news image

useful links